Monastery complex Kecharis
Monastery Kecharis is the classic example of medieval Armenian architecture. The monastery is located in the resort town of Tsaghkadzor, on a slope Pambak ridge. The monastery complex consists of four churches, two chapels, gavit and an ancient cemetery with stone khachkars XII-XIII Art.
Construction of Kecharis monastery was begun in the XI century. But completely ended only in the middle of XIII century.
The first church in the monastery complex was Grigor the Illuminator Church, which is the main temple.
Grigor the Illuminator Church made in the form of a spacious hall, topped with a wide dome. The dome was destroyed in 1828 during a strong earthquake. The external decoration of the church rather modest. Portals inputs bordered protruding columns and narrow windows - small arches.
To the south is a small church - St. Nshan was built in the beginning of XI century.
In 1214 the new owner of the region - Prince Vasak Hagbakyanom - was erected another church of the monastery complex - St. Katoghike..
St. Harutyun church was built in 1220, it is a rectangular church with a cylindrical dome on a high drum.
Monastery Kecharis attracts tourists with its powerful beauty.