Tatev Monastery is the jewel of Armenian architecture of the Middle Ages. It is located in the South of Armenia in the center of Syunik region. The monastery was built in the IX - XIII Art. and consecrated in honor of St. Eustache, a disciple of the apostle Thaddeus.
The complex consists of three churches, auditoriums, cells for the monks, the library, the dining room, the bell tower, tombs, hranlisch, kitchen, bakery, winery, as well as other administrative and support buildings.
The main church of the Monastery of Tatev - Church of St. Poghos-Petros. It was built in 895-906 years. In 895, Bishop Hovhannes destroyed the old church and built a new in its place.
The main attraction of the monastery is "Gavazan", which is a swinging column, installed in 904 next to the living quarters of the monastery. Eight-meter stone column topped with khachkar. The main feature of this design is that the octagonal pillar can be tilted independently and return to starting position.
By the unique examples of Armenian architecture can be attributed to the Gate Church of St.. Astvatsatsin, built in 1087
Church buildings are surrounded by built in the XVII - XVIII Art. rectory quarters, storerooms, a vaulted dining room with kitchen, bell tower, office and residential premises.